Sign Language

OMGWTFBBQ

OMGWTFBBQ

WHAT?

IT’S WHAT?

I DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING!

WHAT?

NO! WHAT?

YES, I’M DRINKING, NO, WAIT, WHAT?!

Ug.

So, amps + earplugs (yes, I want to hear when I’m 80) = WHAT?!?

At a show, sign language of a sort is needed. (I know a bare minimum of ASL. I know the alphabet, “I’m hungry” and “silly boy” but, that doesn’t quite fulfill my metal conversations.) An ad-lib signing has developed. It’s based off of basically Metal and Beer.

Let’s start with the two basic metal signs:

1) Horn = This band is more epically metal than every other band that ever threw guitars at a drummer

Enough with the drinking. Onto the metal…







2) Glug Glug = Dude, let’s go drink. Are you drinking? Let’s get a beer!












There are several other signal’s that I’ve encountered:

3) Symmetrical squiggly hands followed by pounding = (apparently) chick drummer.

4) Fist pumping mouth (no, not a lewd signal) = beer?

5) Pointing at my hubby pulse fist pumping then a thumbs up = “that guy rocks hard” (Yeah, I thought it was an ejaculation gesture, too)

It’s amazing to watch how we communicate with each other when auditory communication is lost.

Post your own common sign language in the comments.



P.S. RSS feeders: sorry about the early post fail. “post” look a lot like “preview” on wordpress. Also, my little black kitty was distracting me with a rubber band. And yes, that is my excuse.

Leave a Reply

