The Governor’s Ball

The Mighty Metal and Comedy Show

The Governor hosts a metal radio podcast featuring a variety of interviews, music and the amusing section, Sly Advice.

I’ve known about the Governor for several years now (heck, he even presided over my wedding), but I’ve had a hard time sorting out the best way to listen to the show.

Last week, I made a commitment to watch less television, and in my quest to kill the quiet, I re-discovered iTunes. I started out the podcast exploration with Six Pixels of Separation and Media Hacks (As a freelance designer, this counts as part of my work day)

After itunes had downloaded all the work related content, I found that I still wasn’t done working, and I wanted something else to listen to.

Before this weekend, I had been downloading the Gov’s show and just saving it somewhere and then finding it, and then hitting play. Usually, I would listen to the show in my hubby’s car, and that was a pain because I never got to listen to the show all the way through.

Once I made the obvious leap (yes, I know, I’m not the brightest crayon), I “subscribed’ to the Governor’s Ball on iTunes (find it with the search function) and now I can easily access it right from my iTunes. Woot!

The Gov covers a wide range of bands from different styles and levels of popularity. (I love that Canadian content.)

The show is not only funny, but also relevant and informative. The Gov tackles a large selection of topics, and often prods the musician into giving up info. I was amazed at his ability to control interview subjects who just weren’t into it. He transformed the interview into an amusing and useful piece of broadcast.

I highly recommend that you check out the show. Either do the iTunes search, which I recommend, or head over to http://www.thegovernorsball.com for the direct download.

For the initiated, there is also the facebook fan page over at http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Governors-Ball-The-Mighty-Metal-and-Comedy-Show/14577523367?ref=ts

Me and the Gov

Do you listen to the Governor’s Ball? If not, why? What other metal podcasts do you listen to?

Leave a Reply

