Aging in Metal

I was browsing through Shopper’s when I noticed a young metalhead who was complaining to her mother about the high price of band shirts. Her mention of $50 shirts lead me to believe that she’s just starting down the metal path and has yet to discover the underground bands.

I started to consider my own place in the community. I used to consider myself one of the news kids, but it seems that I’ve outgrown that position. I certainly haven’t gained the distinction of being one of the old guard. So where do I fit in? I’m stuck between the bright-eyed bushy-tailed kids and the laid-back guys with the enviable, ancient shirts.

I suppose that it doesn’t really matter how I see myself in the metal generations as long as the metal keeps coming.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

